American Sniper

I saw “American Sniper” a few nights ago. It was very moving, a credit to Clint Eastwood’s direction. I am not sure if the film would have been as effective with someone else in the director’s chair. I know that there will be those on the political left (e.g., Michael Moore) and perhaps some anti-war libertarians (e.g., Alex Jones) that will dismiss the film as pro-war propaganda. I will be the first to admit that I have my share of disagreements with parts of our foreign policy. However, this is an issue to be taken to the politicians. What I got from the film had nothing to do with the rightness or wrongness of the war in Iraq, but rather the hell that the U.S. soldier has to endure. The soldier does what he is told and often has to pay a heavy price, even if they make it back home alive. Sometimes the hardest wounds to heal aren’t physical.

Leave a Reply

