15 Minutes

I am not sure if I ever told you about a particularly embarrassing 15 minutes of fame I had a while ago. This happened in April of 2014. I was watching this news program and one of the topics of discussion was a female school teacher that had been accused of giving an under-age male student a lap dance.

I had posted a comment on their Facebook page acknowledging a double standard in these situations. Male sex offenders are always treated more severely than their female counterparts. The former often have the book thrown at them, whereas the latter often receive probation and very little jail time, a slap on the wrist by comparison.

I think the reason for this double standard is because every red-blooded male that remembers his depraved youth has probably been “hot for teacher” at least once. We have a hard time accepting 15-to-17-year-old boys as “victims” because deep down we wish we could have had such an experience at that age.

Unfortunately, I did not employ the best choice of words when trying to make my point. I came across as a but sarcastic in tone. I believe I said something along the lines of it being every school boy’s dream to be seduced by a hot teacher (or words to that effect).

After I submitted the comment, I quickly forgot about it. That is, until the following week when the revisited the topic. The producers selected a few of the Facebook and Twitter comments to read on the air. Only one was from a male audience member. Guess who?

Leave a Reply

